Honda CB400 Super Four.

This is one of thes bike I’ve been hoping to land, but, again, the nice ones at the auctions have been pushing just out of my budget. Considered by many to be the Toyota Corolla of the bike world, it has a seriously good reputation for reliablity relative to its cost. Produced for the Japanese market it is possible to buy overseas from some importers. It is very common here in Japan. Indeed, it’s pretty much the standard bike used by riding schools for people doing the chugatta (250cc-400cc) licence. It’s what I’m learning on.


There’s nothing particuarly aesthetically attractive about this bike compared to many others, but I don’t need a babe magnet (I’m married to the only babe I need), and I’m not really concerned about what others think of me because of the bike I ride. Of course, there’s a balance to be struck when it comes to heeding and ignoring others’ opinions of us. I wouldn’t want to being turning up to my workplace on a chopper with a pic of a leggy, big-breasted arse-smacker spawled across my petrol tank. I might find myself left off the teaching roster if I were to do that. Therefore, I’d rather go with a conservative safe-bet, just like the CB400SF.

It originates in the CB400 four model and its first run out was in 1992 with the Big Project-1 version (pictured above). This was followed by the R version (with a cowl), the S version and the most recent Super Bol D’or. The most up-to-date models have ABS and VTEC. There have been slight variations in between, but I’m not going to bother going into those.

I bid on the bike pictured, but, alas, as has happened every time so far, the bids went over my budget. It was a very clean bike as you can see by the pictures, so I was disappointed at that, but hey, the auction is full of CB400SFs, so if this is the bike I’ll end up getting, I’m sure I’ll get a clean one.

Specs:

Engine and Transmission

    * Engine Type: Liquid cooled, 4-stroke, 4 Valve, DOHC inline 4 cylinder
    * bore and Stroke: 55.0 mm * 42.0 mm
    * Displacement: 399 cc (24.3 cu in)
    * Compression ratio: 11.3
    * Horsepower: 39 kW (52 hp) @ 11000 rpm
    * Max Torque: 39 N·m (29 ft·lbf) @ 9500 rpm
    * Carburetor Type: VPO4 (4 x 32 mm carbs)
    * Transmission: 6 speed
    * Final Drive: Chain

Chassis and Running Gear

Brakes

    * Front Brake: Single 296 mm or Dual Discs with 4 piston callipers
    * Rear Brake: Single 240 mm Disc with single piston calliper

Dimensions and Performance

    * Dry Weight: 168 kg (370 lb)
    * Ground Clearance: 130 mm (5.1 in)
    * Dimensions: 2050*725*1070 mm (80.7 x 28.5 x 42.1 in)
    * Wheelbase: 1415 mm (55.7 in)
    * Seat Height: 760 mm (29.9 in)
    * Fuel Capacity: 18 litres (4.76 gal)
    * Max Speed: 115 mph (185 km/h)
    * Acceleration 0-60 mph: < 6 seconds

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “Honda CB400 Super Four.”

  1. Brian Says:

    I rode a CB400 Type-S for over a year in Japan. It was a really fun bike to kick around on. I even did a 3 week tour on it. Anything above 130kph is a little uncomfortable though.

  2. Motorbiking in Japan Says:

    The chances of me doing anything even near 130kmph are remote to say the least. I can barely bring myself to going over 120kmph in the car. A nice, sensible, middle-aged 100kmph does me nicely. Sure at that speed I can still have me cuppa and an aul read at the paper.

  3. Pavy Says:

    I have one CB400SF Revo 08 (it's my second bike after a Balius 250) and I really like it. It's good for touring, can do nice speed with it (170 KmH on highway is easy to reach) but I put a bikini cowler on the front because without it, wind get annoying after 120KmH.It's good bike for beginners.Pav (from GR)


  4. I ride a CB400 in Korea. Love it. It’s a bit small in the frame but great bang for the buck!


Leave a Reply

