Coolant and distilled water.

When I was changing the oil on the Vino XC50 I noticed that the coolant level indicator was showing a need to top up. First of all I learned that there are two basic types of coolant here in Japan, a green one and a pink/red one and they cannot be mixed. I have no idea what the difference is between the two so if you know, please post below.


Anyway, I had my wife contact the dealer to find out about the coolant issue, i.e. if I needed to replace the coolant or just top it up, and with what to top it up. According to the dealer, the XC50 is filled with a 50% coolant, 50% distilled water (蒸留水, pron. jouryusui) mix and when it goes down it’s because the distilled water evaporates and, therefore, it should be topped up with distilled water. He told us that distilled water can be bought almost anywhere and mentioned Autobacs specifically. We went there and they told us they didn’t have it. We tried a local home centre and they didn’t have it either. According to Wikipedia it is often sold in supermarkets in the USA for drinking, but we can’t find it here just yet. The dealer also said that we could simply take tap water and leave it out overnight and that would do it, but we’re not so sure.

Distilled water is made by boiling water and recondensing  the steam, a process which takes most, if not all of the chemicals from the water which can be corrosive to engines. We know that here in Japan tap water is soft water and, therefore, is low in chemical content, so maybe the dealer reckons that the water just wouldn’t do much damage to the engine. Anyway, I want to find distilled water to use, rather than tap water. If and when I find it, I’ll tell you where I got it. I’ve a sneaky feeling that I might just find it in Jusco.

UPDATE: According to some of the good folks over at Gaijin Riders tap water is perfectly fine to use. I’ll just use that.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Coolant and distilled water.”

  1. emijah Says:

    The coolant is coloured so that you don’t mistake it for water and drink it. The stuff they add to prevent it from freezing is poisonous.
    I think Toyota uses red and Honda uses green. There is also blue. You try not to mix colours because it makes it difficult to tell whether you have a problem with the engine or not.


  2. Thanks for the information mate. I didn’t know the colour system.

    Cheers.


Leave a Reply

