Brake fluid.

I’ve been wondering about the brake fluid level for ages given that the little window on the brake fluid container on the handlebars has long frosted over, so I bought some fluid yesterday and opened it to top it up. It was low enough so I topped it up to the level specified in the Haynes manual, however, the fluid in there is very cloudy, whereas the new stuff is clear. Should I be worried? I should consider draining and replacing the fluid I know, but I can’t mess it up and lose the use of the bike this week for work. The holidays start soon so I can take it on then.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Brake fluid.”

  1. Barron Says:

    So funny that I am looking at my brake fluid as well! Mine’s at the min level, but it’s a dark amber color now. I gotta bleed them after vacation. I think the brake fluid should be clear and light color. Should be a simple operation I should think, but might require two people (for my bike at least).

  2. Klaus Says:

    I had it done by one of my biker (dealer) friends. Didn’t seem to be too much of an effort. Remove the cap, drain the old fluid (if I remember correctly he used a “handpump”), fill in the new stuff, drain again (do this twice or three times in total) and fill it up to the mark indicated on the container. After that you should be good to go. Don’t forget to apply the brake lever a couple of times (before closing the container) to get rid of air inside the system. Hope (and guess) I didn’t make any mistakes – written down the way I remember!!

    Safe riding during the winter season, a MERRY CHRISTMAS and all the best for 2011!!!


  3. I’m planning to ask my mechanic to do it and I can help him and learn. Something as vital as the brakes needs an experienced hand for sure. He’s a cool chap, so he’ll teach me and advise me afterwards when I try to do it myself.

    Merry Christmas to you both!


Leave a Reply

