Took a quick ride into northern Toyota late afternoon, early evening.

Not far from Yahagi Dam.

Went for a quick ride up the twisties around the Yahagi River and dam in northern Toyota. I just fancied the run, but I also wanted to test out the new heated gear in the really cold temperatures up there. The grips and vest work really well, but they can’t keep out the cold completely, not unless I wear wind-proof rain-gear and get a set of grip covers, which I don’t really know if I want to use. I imagine that they’re dangerous, especially if I had my hand off the grip and needed to grab it in an emergency.

Not far from Yahagi Dam.

Anyway, I’m learning the roads from Seto to Fujioaka and up into the area around the Yahagi River. There’s one particular road which breaks off from a two-lane main road and runs over the top of a mountain towards Obara. It’s mostly single lane, very twisty and running through forests and hamlets. It’s the most charming road, and great for slow speed twisty riding. A friend took me over it months ago, but I found it again by accident on Tuesday and then went back that way today. There are some snow drifts up there which have been lying for weeks it seems. That’s how cold it gets. There are quite a few houses nestled into the woods along the road and I’m amazed how people manage to make a living up there. There is no agriculture to be seen apart from kitchen gardens and small allotments and rice fields, so I can only imagine that they’re in forestry or they’re commuting. It’s beautiful country though, and I’ll be spending much more time up there. Today was a bit hurried, but some time in the not-too-distant future, I’ll take my camera up and spend some time taking photos.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Took a quick ride into northern Toyota late afternoon, early evening.”

  1. Simon V Says:

    I have no heated gloves or hand grips so I find the handguards I’ve fitted to my Transalp very useful. They are the kind that newspaper delivery men have on their Honda Cubs, slightly trimmed to fit the mirror stems. They keep the rain off well too.
    Knee and thigh insulation is important too, and a fluorescent jacket such as workmen use keeps the wind out. Unfortunately I’ve been unable to find a replacement for the trousers I used last year with bubble pack or foam packing material taped inside the front surface. They were as warm as toast on late nights and frosty mornings every weekday throughout the winter. No trouble to slip on and off either.


  2. I could use some lining in my sleeves and leggings. The leggings I bought are Komine all-year riding pants, with mesh panels for the summer and retractable panels for the winter. They’re not excellent in either season, but they do the job to some degree. When I head into the mountains in winter, however, my legs start to feel the cold after a while. Bubble pack certainly sounds like a cheap solution!


Leave a Reply

