Window shopping.

Honda CB1300 Super Bol D'or.

I popped into a Honda Dream dealership today whilst out shopping with my wife and kids, and I have to say, the CB1300 Super Bol D’or is such a lovely bike.  I threw my leg over it and was struck by how light it felt compared to the Transalp. I don’t think there’s much weight difference, but the centre of gravity of the CB1300 is definately lower than the Transalp, making it feel lighter (UPDATE: Actually, I just checked and the CB1300 is 226kg and the Transalp 400v is 183kg, but the Transalp certainly feels heavier. I must be down to it’s height, especially the tank).

I also checked a school for the price of upgrading to oogata and Toyota Driving School is massively cheaper than my local school. My local school wants 10万円, whereas the Toyota school wants only 5.5万円. I reckon I’ll upgrade this summer, put the Transalp through the shaken this coming November, sell it and upgrade to a larger engined bike.

Yamaha Super Tenere 660

Maybe a CB1300, maybe a Yamaha Tenere 660. God only knows how this will pan out, but I’ll be going this route all things being equal.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “Window shopping.”

  1. Klaus Says:

    Damien, morning my man!

    So, you are really planning to go for the “ogata” license? And 55.000 Yen, that doesn’t sound too bad – hoping that you pass the first time.

    Darned, maybe I should also think about it – a BMW GS would be nice. But then again, first I need the Yen – money talks!


  2. Hi Klaus,

    I’ll be buying Japanese mate. BMWs are all good and well, but when they break down I hear parts are tough to get, and that the bikes are generally more expensive to maintain. You can’t go wrong with Honda or Yamaha I reckon.
    I do want a Dual Purpose bike if possible though, because the height and seating position are safer given the better visibility, but Honda only have the Africa Twin, which is too bulky for me. I fancy something smaller for maneuverability. I was very impressed about how light the CB1300 felt.
    There is always the Honda XL1000V Varadero, but I’d think they’re be hard to come by here, and expensive when found.

  3. Klaus Says:

    Damien,

    are you folks ok up there?

    Any problems with earthquake, tsunami and nuclear melt down?

    Hope you are all fine


  4. Hi Klaus,

    We’re all fine thanks. How about you lot? Are you suffering in any way?

    I’m just about to head out to the local supermarket to get some lunch. There has been no panic buying around here it seems so I’m not so concerned. My wife is due to give birth any day and I’m still on holiday from work. The kids finish school this week too, so there’s a lot happening at home. We’ve been getting work done to the house, and I’ve been painting and laying a patio. Busy as hell! Busted up about the situation in the north though. I hope you’re OK mate.

    Best of luck,
    Damien.


Leave a Reply

