Baffled

The fuel gauge dropped to the last bar today with only 195km on the trip. Doesn’t make sense. It’s true that the gauge  is very easily effected by the gradient of the road, but I really didn’t expect such a wildly different mileage reading from the last time, especially a lower one, seeing that I’ve been riding so much more slowly. I’m intrigued to see what the milage is when it hits reserve.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

7 Comments on “Baffled”

  1. klaus Says:

    Damien, hi there!

    Guess winter-riding has begun?

    But – 195 kilometers with one tank?

    I assume you got an 18 liter tank, so down to the last bar means what? If this should mean something like 7.5 liters/100 kilometers something must be wrong?

    Even with my old TA I get something like 4 liters/100 kilometers.


  2. Hi Klaus. Yep, put the winter jacket on from yesterday. It’s getting nippy out there!

    The tanks holds 18 litres, including 4 litres reserve. I’m still a bar above the reserve, and the 195km reading is a very loose one to be honest. Tomorrow morning I’ll probably see 2 bars on the gauge as I head downhill towards the centre of Seto. I should get to work and back tomorrow before hitting the reserve. That’s when it’ll be telling.

    My last reading gave me 18 km/l, and I started restricting the acceleration and top speeds in the hope I could break 20 km/l. I had been having a bit of fun with the bike for that last reading, so I reckoned I’d be economising with the fuel by slowing down. Now that all looks a bit odd.

  3. Simon Says:

    You can’t put much faith in the accuracy of a scale with only 6 points of reference, Damien. Ignore the meter and calculate the mileage every time you refill. It doesn’t matter when you refill as long as you **always fill to the same point, every time**. A small error here will be cancelled out if you average over several fills.
    I always write mine on the back of the receipt so you’ve got all the data together. Date, odo reading, trip reading, litres bought, cost,…

    Shall I make you a spreadsheet?
    I use Macs, but I can make one in Excel.


  4. A spreadsheet is a good idea Simon. I’ll put on together myself on MS Office. You’re right about the inaccuracy. As I said above, it’d be best if I waited until I saw the reserve lights flashing. Also, the first time I ran the trip, I took off into the mountains for a run. The second time I’ve been back and forward to work, hitting the lights and spending a lot more time in high gears. It’ll take numerous readings to get a reasonable idea of what mileage I’m getting.


  5. Good idea about making the spreadsheet. I have one in Google Docs that I update with every fill-up. It calculates mpg per tank, avg mpg for all fill-ups, avg price per fill-up, total amt spent on fuel, cost per mile, etc. I also have leave a note for anything special about the previous fill-up, like what kind of riding I did. Now I have 50 fill-ups recorded and a pretty good idea of the miles per gallon. 🙂


  6. Got to work this morning with 225km on the trip and I’m not at reserve yet. It looks as if I’ll get home before reserve kicks in so that’ll bring it up to around 250km. Still, that’s what I had hoped for given the fact that I’ve been riding like a ba-chan for over a week.


  7. 233 km when the reserve lights started flashing, but it returned to one bar for a few more kms before finally settling in the reserve. I’d say 245 km as a reasonable estimate. That’s 17.5 km/l this time around.


Leave a Reply

